Shabra Charity Oliver Brady Memorial Golf Classic a Huge Success

The Oliver Brady Shabra Charity Foundation Golf Classic held recently at the splendid Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort proved to be the most successful to date. The classic is held to remember and honour the late Oliver Brady a founder member of the charity is organised by fellow founder member Rita Shah and her committee. Rita and her committee by their fundraising are helping keep Oliver’s promise alive that is to improve the treatments available to all the people of Ireland who require critical health care.

Shabra Charity is a fully voluntary run charity and every cent raised goes directly to a number of deserving causes. The charity is currently fundraising for the next stage of providing the Mater Hospital with the most recent Gene Sequencing equipment and in particular new machines in the treatment of retinal degeneration.

This golf classic saw record numbers take part in the scramble format that affords golfers of all abilities to take part in a most enjoyable event. As usual the Moyvalley golf course was in pristine condition and the scoring on the day certainly reflected this fact. The shotgun start saw all golfers finish their round at the same time and then all returned to the clubhouse for the dinner and presentation. 

John Lyons, Golf Operations Manager at Moyvalley acted as MC for the evening. He called on Shabra Charity CEO, Rita Shah to address all those present. Rita briefly related the story of the charity to all present and thanked all present for their continued support for the charity as it embarks on another ambitious fundraising campaign to provide modern equipment for the Eye treatment unit at the Mater Hospital. This led perfectly on to the next speaker Dr David Keegan Consultant Professor Vitreo-Retinal Surgeon who praised the fundraising efforts to date and he spoke of his desire to see a complete Gene Sequencing unit dedicated to treatment of all eye defects thus leading to a better outcome for patients and their families.

The presentation of the prizes then followed with the prizes going to the following teams.

1st Team – Representing Dan Lynas Foods, Dermot Cronin, Eamonn Long, Leon Fitzpatrick Shane Dooley.

2nd Team – Pat Gleeson, Declan King, John Bodkin, Martin Murphy

3rd Team – Tom McNamara, Andy Warren, Darren Donoghue, Simon Moore

4th Team – Representing Pembroke Alliance, Ronan McGrane, Dermot Cronin, Aidan Heavy, Joe Reilly

5th Team – Representing Shabra, John Heffernan, Micky Byrne, Brendan McGowan, Sean Cahill

6th Team – Representing Moyvalley Hotel, Simon Mooney, Paul Newell, Cormac Browne, Chris O’Reilly

7th Team – Representing Arthue McGovern; Brendan McGrath, Nigel Langan, Nial Keagan, Scott Penna

8th Team – Representing Hugh Jordan; Ian Murray, John Burns, Pat Ford, Martin Ryan

Nearest the Pin – Eamon Moran , Longest Drive Dermot Cronin (Golf Bag), Oliver Brady Nearest the Pin Brendan McGrath (Voucher) 

Before closing the evening’s proceedings Rita asked all to mark the same day in their diaries for 2024 when she hoped all would return for another wonderful day at Moyvalley.